A Bit of This, a Bit of That

Gu Family Book 1

I cannot even express how much I’m fangirling over the upcoming Gu Family Book.  I just watched the extended trailer and OMG I just…I can’t even…  I know a lot of people don’t want to get their hopes up in case the drama tanks, but GFB would have to be seriously bad – I’m talking Fashion King with a gummy baby in the brain bad – to make me not watch it.  This is absolutely my kind of show.

TWTWTB 1

I finally finished That Winter, the Wind that Blows.  As my first bona-fide melodrama, I think it was a good one to cut my teeth on.  Lots and lots of pretty to balance the angst, which definitely wasn’t as bad as I’d feared.  I agree with those who feel the show left a lot to be desired in the last few eps, but overall, I’m glad I watched it.

I’ve only been “live watching” shows for less than a year (and by that I mean watching them weekly, as soon I have each ep downloaded and subs to go with it).  I’d always thought marathoning completed shows was the best option, and it definitely has its merits, but I realized I was missing out on a lot of the activity that goes on online as the show airs.  I had to try and avoid spoilers, I couldn’t read recaps or participate in discussions, squealing, drool sessions, etc.  So I tried out live watching when Rooftop Prince, King2Hearts, and Queen In-hyun’s Man aired last year.

I don’t regret a thing…even the week of waiting after an especially agonizing cliffhanger (I’m looking at you, QIHM!) just made the anticipation greater, which made the satisfaction of sitting down and consuming the next episode like a rabid fangirl that much better.

Plus, I’ve found that my time management is better when I simply can’t go ahead and watch the next episode.  But at the same time, I miss the fun of marathoning, the frustration of having to stop because of work or you know, actually having to cook or wash clothes for the family, the eagerness of joy of finally being able to sit back down and continue until the end. (Unless something else interrupts.  Like potty breaks.)

Over the past few weeks, I’d say from about the time Flower Boy Next Door ended, real life has intruded and kept me from keeping up with Winter on a weekly basis.  By the time ep 14 aired, I was finally getting around to watching 10.  The delay made me feel somewhat disconnected from the drama, like I had lost my emotional investment in the characters.  Cause to be honest, while I started the drama for my delicious Kim Bum, I stayed because of the OTP.

I never quite re-connected with the characters, but after the busy-ness of the past few weeks, it felt so good to watch a drama that I wanted to start another immediately.  I debated over which one for about a day, but I think the whole time I knew in my heart which one I wanted to watch next.  It was time to indulge in what I’ve heard is Mike He’s best work: Sunny Happiness.

Sunny Happiness 1

I’m halfway through ep 8.  Can I just say that this drama is hitting all the right places for me?  And if I ever found a guy that looked at me like Mike He looks at his leading ladies, I’d marry him on the spot.  Except someone would have to scrape me off the ground and carry me to the altar cause I’d be a puddle of goo at his feet.

Leave a Reply

