Currently Airing: Flower Boy Next Door and That Winter, the Wind That Blows

FBND E14 01

My thoughts on Ep 14 and my first melodrama…*spoilers ahead*

I am still totally and completely in love with Flower Boy Next Door.  I know a lot of folks are unhappy with the apparent Noble Idiocy in the ending scene, but my initial impression – which remains even after rewatching the scene several times – is that Dok Mi did NOT plan for the boys to overhear her conversation with Do Hwi.  How could she have known they would follow her there?  It’s too obvious from the shock and upset on her face when she turns and finds them there, and sees the hurt on Enrique’s face.  As for her asking Jin Rak to help her convince Enrique to return to Spain, perhaps she considered being a Noble Idiot but I still say she didn’t intend for it to happen in this way.  Jin Rak’s grabbing of her hand and pulling her away happened for two reasons, I think: he remembered her request and figured it was a good time to make it happen, but also everyone else was frozen in place and he knew Dok Mi needed to get out of there.  I have every faith that the drama will work this situation out like it has everything else.

Now, for my favorite part of the show:

FBND E14 02 FBND E14 03 FBND E14 04

It doesn’t get much better than that 😀

*****

TWTWTB 1

That Winter, the Wind That Blows is my first “I’m actually choosing to watch this” melodrama.  In my three years of Kdrama watching, I have deliberately avoided melos.  I don’t mind angst, but when the main character(s) dies at the end?  No.  Thank.  You.  I made the mistake of watching 49 Days – I honestly never expected that ending or I never would’ve watched it – and I swore never again.  However, thanks to my love of Kim Bum, TWTWTB caught my attention.  And the story actually sounded interesting.  Ripe for pain and angst and heartbreak, but compelling nonetheless.  So after considering it for a while, I decided to give it a chance.

I have watched the first three episodes and I have to say that so far, the drama is really good.  And yes, I’m loving Bummie with his red hair 🙂  I can see the potential for the drama to end well or end in disaster, so I’m hoping for the best but preparing myself for the worst.

2 responses to “Currently Airing: Flower Boy Next Door and That Winter, the Wind That Blows

  1. Oooh the last melodrama that I’ve watched was also 49 Days! I totally watched it for Jung Il Woo and meh,the ending was so anticlimactic. Didn’t like it.
    I’d love to hear more of your thoughts on TWTWB though. 😀

    • I started watching 49 Days because Dramabeans was giving it the nod of approval and because I found the premise interesting. It was my first time watching Jung Il Woo, and I fell hard!

      I’ll weigh in on TWTWTB as soon as I catch up – I’m 4 episodes behind but I plan to catch up tomorrow. Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

