TW Actor: Ming Dao

Ming Dao 4

My first Ming Dao drama was Magicians of Love and I recently finished watching my second one, Prince Who Turns Into a Frog.  In both dramas, I found Ming Dao to be a pretty decent actor.  His characters were the standard cold chaebol (in Kdrama terms, cause I don’t know the TW equivalent).  Based on what I’ve seen in the two dramas, I think it’s safe to say that Ming Dao is one of the better TW actors I’ve seen.  He’s not at Vic Zhou’s level, but his acting and line delivery is more natural than many others.  And it doesn’t hurt that he’s a real cutie pie.

Ming Dao 3
His smile makes me smile.

I didn’t immediately fall for Ming Dao in MoL.  I liked him well enough, but he just didn’t trigger my inner fangirl.  To be fair, I don’t think it was any fault of his; I think it was the drama.  However, Prince/Frog flipped that switch…fangirl powers, activate!

TW dramas are kinda hit and miss for me…so often the synopsis will sound good but the execution sucks.  With that in mind, I’ve gone through the list of Ming Dao’s dramas and the only two that interest me are Happy & Love Forever from 2010 and one that’s supposed to be out this year, Happiness of an Angel.  Since he’s just been discharged from the military, I’m assuming HoaA was either pre-filmed before he went in, or it’s his first project post-military.  Either way, it sounds a lot like the Prince/Frog setup (minus the amnesia) so it has my attention.  Here’s to more Ming Dao in 2013!

Ming Dao 2
Who wouldn’t want more of that cute face?

For more info:
MyDramaList Actor Page
Wikipedia

Leave a Reply

