Asian Drama Addiction: Transitioning to Kdramas

About two years after discovering Jdramas, I found myself desperately searching for something new to watch.  It seemed that I had covered all the favorite classics and manga adaptations, and there simply wasn’t anything new being aired that interested me.

Thanks to d-addicts, I knew of Korean dramas.  Various ones were mentioned quite frequently and in glowing terms.  Even so, I couldn’t imagine that Kdramas could be any better than my beloved Jdramas.  But with nothing else to watch, I finally decided to give one a try.  Based on recommendations, I began with

(HS 5) You're Beautiful
You’re Beautiful

What IS this?  It’s CRACK, that’s what!  Back to that recommendations list – what else can I find to watch?

Full House
Full House

Who is this Rain person?

Rain 7 Rain 1 Rain 23
Oh!  THAT’S Rain!

Hmm, I need another drama to watch.

Coffee Prince
Coffee Prince

Gong Yu, I love you.  Will you marry me?

Gong Yoo 5  Gong Yoo 3 Gong Yoo 9Gong Yoo 4
He hasn’t given me an answer yet. 😦

Jang Geun Suk, you were too adorable for words in You’re Beautiful.  I need to know what you’re up to now.  What?  There’s going to be a movie remake of Kimi wa Petto and he’s going to be Momo?  I NEED MORE INFO!*

This is an interesting site.  I like the name.  And the writing is really good.  Ooooh, recaps!  And news of current Kdramas!

Dramabeans
Dramabeans

Everyone seems to be crazy about this remake of Hana Yori Dango.  I seriously doubt it’ll be as good as the Jdrama, but I’ll watch it anyway.

Boys Over Flowers
Boys Over Flowers

What is this insanity?  I haven’t slept but four hours since I started it!  It’s all your fault, Lee Min Ho!

Lee Min Ho 13 Lee Min Ho 11 Lee Min Ho 10 Lee Min Ho 9 Lee Min Ho 7 Lee Min Ho 5
Lee Min Ho(t)

And so my fate was sealed.

*Obviously this happened in the past.  I’ve since seen the movie, and it was pretty bad.

6 responses to “Asian Drama Addiction: Transitioning to Kdramas

  1. nice article 🙂

  2. so how is the addiction, you found a cure yet?? nope? not suprised ^_^ there are SOOO many amazing dramas out there yet for you to watch 🙂

  3. it is serious I know… even if you found a cure, I dont think Id want it 🙂 btw… love your dp.

Leave a Reply

