Kimchi Jjigae – 1st Attempt

I’ve been wanting to try kimchi jjigae, or kimchi stew, for some time now.  After looking up several recipes online, I ended up printing out four variations to try.  I chose to try this recipe first, because it sounded fairly basic and easy.  I used a little more pork belly than the recipe called for, because hey, I like pork.

It was very easy to make and the result was quite yummy.  My daughter and I halved it and ate it over some leftover rice, which soaked up the broth quite nicely.

Kimchi JjigaeI haven’t yet conquered the “presentation” part of cooking yet.  But visually appealing or not, it was definitely good!  I would’ve made another batch but I don’t have enough kimchi left.  However, my wonderful cousin-in-law went shopping at the Asian market yesterday and is bringing me a few items to restock my pantry and fridge, so I’ll have enough kimchi to try a different recipe tomorrow.  She also purchased radish and Napa cabbage – because we’re going to attempt to make radish kimchi and cut cabbage kimchi sometime this week!  Should be interesting!

Leave a Reply

